1 (edited by joesp1998 2014-07-22 19:25:09)

Topic: Hello from Brighton, England!

Hi, I'm a 16 year old guitarist and Bonamassa enthusiast living in Brighton. I've seen Joe play three times, hopefully soon to become four and herald him as one of the (if not the) greatest guitarists who ever lived! Also an avid gear head, I mainly play a Seymour Duncan loaded Les Paul Studio (modded to 50s wiring with coil taps and phase reversal push/pull pots, strung with a 12-56 set and top wrapped) and hope to soon purchase a Billm modded Fender Blues Junior III and run it with a board I'm in the middle of building in a Bonamassa inspired super rig (I hope to one day upgrade to a Metropoulos 10,000 Superbass and a Bludotone Bludo Drive but until then, the Blues Jr. will have to do ;) ). Other guitarists who's playing I tend to periodically obsess over include David Gilmour, Jimi Hendrix, Jimmy Page, SRV, Mark Knopfler, Eric Clapton, John Squire, Ritchie Blackmore and Peter Green among others.

I first discovered Bonamassa for myself around two years ago and after a short initial period of wanting to burn all my guitars, I became inspired by him to become a better player to the point that I ended up performing a version of 'Woke Up Dreaming', as played in the Royal Albert Hall, only with no lyrics for my school's spring concert. Myself and a few others also played 'Prisoner' in the same concert. Currently, I'm working on speed and playing those blistering pentatonic runs that Joe so effortlessly knocks out as after years of trying to some extent trying to emulate David Gilmour's playing, I'd like to think that I have slower styles, as well as bends and what not pretty covered.