1 (edited by PoppaPlayedAGibson 2014-01-08 21:17:59)

Topic: Are Epiphone LP's Worth It For Beginners ?

I have been looking at some Epiphone LP's and some of them seem to be pretty nice for the price.
Some say that some of em' sound as good if not better than the Gibsons.

Would like to get some opinions from people who know about em'.

Are they good?
What years are the best?
Do they hold up well if taken care or properly?
Does where or when it was manufactured matter?
Could one be upgraded to be close to Gibson quality?
What do I want to look for in order to get a quality one?

These questions are purely for knowledge, I have no intention of buying one. I am however in the market for a electric guitar and I would be considered a total newbie as far as playing goes. I do like the looks of the Epiphones but in the same token looks can be very deceiving.

Any information or thoughts would be nice as I may make buying decisions based on opinions from experts.

Thanks

Re: Are Epiphone LP's Worth It For Beginners ?

I have a epiphone les paul and love it! I have only been playing for about 6 months or so now and it has been a great beginner electric guitar. When deciding what kind of electric guitar I wanted to buy I was talking to someone with knowledge of guitars and such and they told me some of the nicer epiphones are better than the cheaper gibsons. I suggest them, especially for beginners!

3 (edited by PoppaPlayedAGibson 2014-01-08 21:39:37)

edragoo wrote:

I have a epiphone les paul and love it! I have only been playing for about 6 months or so now and it has been a great beginner electric guitar. When deciding what kind of electric guitar I wanted to buy I was talking to someone with knowledge of guitars and such and they told me some of the nicer epiphones are better than the cheaper gibsons. I suggest them, especially for beginners!

Thanks edragoo,

Can you elaborate more on what you like about yours such as: