Topic: Joe's Wah effects

I've looked through this forum and I was unable to find any topics on it, although I missed it, please feel free to redirect me.

As I was listening to Pain & Sorrow, I realized that Joe's wah wah sounds awesome...    So it got me thinking, why can't I get a similiar sound.

Does Joe use the same wah pedal throughout his albums/songs (mainly thinking of Pain and Sorrow, A New Day Yesterday, Reconsider Baby, etc).

If so, what would the pedal be? I have a built in wah pedal in my Zoom g2.1u effects pedal, but it's not the best and has it's faults. All answers are appreciated. Thanks.

PB

P.S. - I'm not some wanna-be trying to copy Joe's tone or what-ev, I am just curious as to what he uses and if I could give it a try, I am relatively new to the whole guitar equipment scene.

Re: Joe's Wah effects

Joe uses a completely stock Vox V-847 wah.  He says he goes through about 2 a year...

Hope this helps... and hope you liked the random trivia there too smile
Scott

"Interestingly, according to modern astronomers, space is finite. This is a very comforting thought-- particularly for people who can never remember where they have left things." - Woody Allen

http://www.last.fm/user/skynyrd128

I'm not a player but I have listened to Joe explain his theory. He uses the wah effect at the top of the stroke instead of the bottom where it gets trebley. Once it is switched on he rocks it back with his heel and makes his sweeps very shallow.

Its a stock Vox Wah.. I like having the non- true bypass switch.. I like the high end subtraction.  I have used this one for more than a year and not had to give it away.. very good.. indeed
Joe Bonamassa

5 (edited by BEERinc 2007-02-13 03:17:10)

hey Joe where ya going with that Vox in your hand...

BEERinc...sometimes a name says it all...