Topic: The Black Crowes

The Black Crowes have scheduled three "final" UK dates on the European leg of their Say Goodbye To The Bad Guys tour.

The band will play a show in Manchester and two in London on the last European leg of their last tour before they go on indefinite hiatus.

The band play at the Academy in Manchester on 11 July before playing two shows at the Shepherd's Bush Empire in London on 12-13 July.

After recently releasing a career retrospective of re-recorded acoustic versions of classic tracks, the band announced that they would be splitting after their last tour to work on other projects for a while.

Tickets for the UK shows are on sale later this week.

No matter how far you try to push the envelope, it remains stationery

Re: The Black Crowes

thanks for letting us know - I'm likely to go to one of the days. You?

Re: The Black Crowes

Saw them at one of their Fillmore shows in San Francisco last month.  Just great!!!

4 (edited by RickB 2015-01-16 09:33:26)

Re: The Black Crowes

End of the road. Sad.

Rich Robinson
**ANNOUNCEMENT**

AFTER 24 YEARS RICH ROBINSON SAYS THE BLACK CROWES ARE NO MORE

Highly influential, critically and commercial successful band The Black Crowes has disbanded, per an announcement today from founding member Rich Robinson. Robinson, the group’s guitarist and songwriter., along with his brother Chris founded the band in their hometown of Marietta GA. Their first album, Shake Your Money Maker, yielded multiple hit singles and has been RIAA certified as a multiplatinum (over 5 million) seller. Their follow up, The Southern Harmony and Musical Companion is, likewise, multiplatinum and rose to #1 on Billboard’s Top 100 Album Chart. The group’s catalog also includes additional RIAA-certified releases, two of which are live albums.

Rich Robinson released a statement concerning the band’s conclusion in which he states, "It is with great disappointment and regret that after having the privilege of writing and performing the music of The Black Crowes over the last 24 years, I find myself in the position of saying that the band has broken up."

His statement continues, "I hold my time with the Black Crowes with the utmost respect and sincerest appreciation. It is a huge swath of my life's body of work. I couldn't be more proud of what we accomplished and deeply moved by the relationships people created and maintained with my music. That alone is the greatest honor of being a musician. I love my brother and respect his talent but his present demand that I must give up my equal share of the band and that our drummer for 28 years and original partner, Steve Gorman, relinquish 100% of his share, reducing him to a salaried employee, is not something I could agree to. "

Robinson concludes, "There are so many people who have helped and supported us along the way. I want to give a heartfelt thank you to all of our fans, our friends behind the scenes, and to everyone who was a part of The Black Crowes.”

Free download from Vienna! http://mbsy.co/bNLR
Lots of unique videos of Joe http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cwd5vL8fXTw
Buy Joe's merchandise here. http://www.jbonamassa.com/affiliates/id … hp?id=1381

Re: The Black Crowes

Really glad that I got to see them at Bottlerock Napa in May '13. They absolutely tore it up especially with Jackie Greene sitting in. I guess we know who the "bad guy" is in this sad situation and as a result I don't plan to support The Chris Robinson Brotherhood.

                                                                                             Stang Me!!!

                                                                                             J Dawg

What is success? Is it do yo' own thang, or is it to join the rest?   -Allen Toussaint

Re: The Black Crowes

Maybe they will go down the Ozzy retirement path. I went to see Ozzy in '92 in Sacramento for the Retirement tour, or was it the retirement sucks tour...Either way, they will be back...Give it a few years and there will be a big reunion tour.

7 (edited by BansheeUK 2019-12-10 10:25:46)

Re: The Black Crowes

Well, another chapter in one of those sagas worthy of a mini-series: it was announced recently that Chris & Rich have managed once again to bury the hatchet (not in each other), to reform The Black Crowes, in time to celebrate/tour the 30th Anniversary of Shake Your Money Maker.. Somehow, that's not been easy to write, without the slightest hint of cynicism....

I don't know the exact make-up of the line-up, especially in regards to Marc Ford who's been in & out, and left last time to protect his sobriety; looking at the schedules, it's more likely Marc will be touring with Steepwater Band while Magpie Salute is on hiatus.

As far as I can see, the tour is US only, depending how long the fraternal peace holds:-

Wed, Jun 17 Austin, TX Austin360 Amphitheater
Fri, Jun 19 Dallas, TX Dos Equis Pavilion
Sat, Jun 20 Houston, TX Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
Tue, Jun 23 Tulsa, OK BOK Center
Wed, Jun 24 Rogers, AR Walmart AMP
Fri, Jun 26 Birmingham, AL Oak Mountain Amphitheater
Sat, Jun 27 Atlanta, GA Cellairis Amhitheatre at Lakewood
Tue, Jun 30 West Palm Beach, FL Coral Sky Amphitheatre

Wed, Jul 1 Tampa, FL MIDFLORIDA Credit Union Amphitheatre
Fri, Jul 3 Charlotte, NC PNC Music Pavilion
Sat, Jul 4 Raleigh, NC Coastal Credit Union Music Park at Walnut Creek
Tue, Jul 7 Nashville, TN Ascend Amphitheatre
Wed, Jul 8 Nashville, TN Ascend Amphitheatre
Fri, Jul 10 Virginia Beach, VA Veteran United Home Loans Amphitheater
Sat, Jul 11 Washington, DC Jiffy Lube Live
Tue, Jul 14 Camden, NJ BB&T Pavilion 
Wed, Jul 15 Bethel, NY Bethel Woods Center for the Arts
Fri, Jul 17 Holmdel, NJ PNC Bank Arts Center
Sat, Jul 18 Wantagh, NY Northwell Health at Jones Beach Theater
Tue, Jul 21 Gilford, NH Bank of New Hampshire Pavilion
Wed, Jul 22 Boston, MA Xfinity Center
Fri, Jul 24 Hartford, CT XFINITY Theatre
Sat, Jul 25 Saratoga Springs, NY Saratoga Performing Arts Center
Tue, Jul 28 Toronto, ON Budweiser Stage
Wed, Jul 29 Detroit, MI DTE Energy Music Theatre
Fri, Jul 31 Buffalo , NY Darien Lake Amphitheatre

Sat, Aug 1 Pittsburgh, PA KeyBank Pavilion
Thu, Aug 13 Saint Paul, MN Xcel Energy Center
Sat, Aug 15 Chicago, IL Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Sun, Aug 16 Indianapolis, IN Ruoff Home Mortgage Music Center
Tue, Aug 18 Cleveland, OH Blossom Music Center
Thu, Aug 20 Cincinnati, OH Riverbend Music Center
Sat, Aug 22 Milwaukee, WI American Family Insurance Ampitheater 
Sun, Aug 23 St Louis, MO Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
Wed, Aug 26 Kansas City, MO Providence Medical Center Amphitheater
Fri, Aug 28 Omaha, NE CHI Health Center
Sun, Aug 30 Denver, CO Red Rocks Amphitheatre

Tue, Sep 1 Salt Lake City, UT USANA Amphitheatre
Fri, Sep 4 Seattle, WA White River Amphitheatre
Sat, Sep 5 Portland, OR Sunlight Supply Amphitheater
Tue, Sep 8 Concord, CA Concord Pavilion
Wed, Sep 9 Mountain View, CA Shoreline Amphitheatre 
Fri, Sep 11 Las Vegas, NV MGM Grand Garden Arena
Sat, Sep 12 Phoenix, AZ Ak-Chin Pavilion
Fri, Sep 18 San Diego, CA North Island Credit Union Amphitheatre
Sat, Sep 19 Los Angeles, CA The Forum

All those who believe in psychokenesis raise my hand........

Re: The Black Crowes

The only Crowes in the band are Chris and Rich. I never heard of any of the other guys and can't recall their names right now but peeps on BC fan pages are aware of these guys' previous work. It's a different sound. Not bad, just different.

I was never a BC fan cuz I couldn't get past Chris. Then a couple years ago I discovered Rich's solo work and The Magpie Salute. I've been in love with him ever since and even managed to dig into the BC catalog. They were so much more than the drivel on the radio. Would've loved to see them live in the earlier days. i haven't bought a ticket yet - only cuz I'm not sure they'll make it to August. But if they do, I suppose I'll go see them, only to see Rich. lol

LIVE MUSIC IS BEST

Re: The Black Crowes

The one and only time I saw them was when they opened up for ZZ Top. This was right when their first album was pretty new.
  It was in a stadium and a good set but I would have liked to have seen them back then in a smaller venue.
  I liked their earlier stuff and then for me they became more lack luster.
   First two albums  really good.

Your rock candy baby
Your hard sweet and sticky

Re: The Black Crowes

Well, will they, won’t they..? Looks like they are: celebrating 30 years of Shake Your Money Maker, the “re-union” tour rolls in the UK in October:-
Oct 12 Mon London, O2 Academy Brixton
Oct 15 Thu Glasgow, The SSE Hydro
Oct 16 Fri Motorpoint Arena Nottingham
Oct 20 Tue O2 Apollo Manchester
Oct 23 Fri Motorpoint Arena Cardiff
Oct 24 Sat Leeds, first direct arena
And if they’re still talking… into Europe:-
Tue, Oct 27 Paris, France Olympia
Wed, Oct 28 Amsterdam, Netherlands AFAS
Fri, Oct 30 Bochum, Germany Ruhr Congress
Sat, Oct 31 Berlin, Germany Tempodrom
Wed, Nov 4 Antwerp, Belgium Lotto Arena
Thu, Nov 5 Munich, Germany Zenith
Mon, Nov 9 Zurich, Switzerland Samsung Hall
Tue, Nov 10 Milan, Italy Mediolanum Forum
Thu, Nov 12 Madrid, Spain WiZink Center
Sat, Nov 14 Lisbon, Portugal Campo Pequeno

All those who believe in psychokenesis raise my hand........

Re: The Black Crowes

After a year+ of no concerts, I bit the bullet and went to see The Black Crowes a couple of weeks ago. It was great fun! Despite my general loathing of Chris Robinson, I will say that he can still sing and prance around as good as anyone. After working their way through SYMM, they proceeded to play a great mix of tunes from over the years. It was nice that every song didn't include a 15 minute jam cuz I don't do well with that sort of thing. The guy on guitar did a fine job although it would've been nice to have Marc Ford present. Glad that Sven was there as he is a favorite. I was also thrilled to be able to see Rich for a couple of hours! I would go see them again if they keep it up.

LIVE MUSIC IS BEST