Topic: Sounds Very Familiar

I've been listening to my Robben Ford stuff in anticipation of catching his show in Chico, Ca. on the 19th this month. Joe credits Robben as one of his influences in his bio and if anybody happens to have a copy of Handful of Blues, then check out two songs in particular 1) The Millers Son & Tired of Talkin'. If you didn't know who you were listening to you'd swear it was Joe. I think it's the tone and phrasing that caught my ear. What do the Bonamasses think?

Bluesin' Out West,

J Dawg

"You better talk to your daughter"        Robben Ford

What is success? Is it do yo' own thang, or is it to join the rest?   -Allen Toussaint

Re: Sounds Very Familiar

So I guess you guys aren't that familiar w/ Robben Ford.

J Dawg

What is success? Is it do yo' own thang, or is it to join the rest?   -Allen Toussaint

Hey Dawg! I am relatively new to Robben Ford. I do have some stuff by him but I just havent gotten to listening to it much. I have been overwhelmed by a ton of music lately! Ill have to pull it back out and listen to it. Thanks for the heads up!

Rob

All my tears they fell like rain, cant you hear them falling?
Led Zeppelin: Since I been Loving You

I have been a huge fan of Robben since 1988's Talk to Your Daughter. I had seen him on the Court and Spark tour with Joni Mitchell in 74. I finally got to see him Wednesday with Blue Line bassist Roscoe Beck and Austin session man Brannon Temple on drums. Robben did not dissapoint. Everything I thought he would be live and more. I got to speak with him after the show. I said something about him being a blues guy. He seemed shocked to be considered blues. I told him kind of in the same vein of Robert Cray, sophisticated blues, only Robben plays more shuffles than Robert. Contempory blues at its best.