Topic: Drive in concerts UK

https://www.livenation.co.uk/utilitalivefromthedrivein

Live nation have organised some drive-in concerts over the next few months, doesn’t really appeal to me but some folk might be interested.
No blues but there is Gary Numan.

Lester

2 (edited by BansheeUK 2020-06-25 08:24:22)

Re: Drive in concerts UK

Lester wrote:

https://www.livenation.co.uk/utilitalivefromthedrivein

Live nation have organised some drive-in concerts over the next few months, doesn’t really appeal to me but some folk might be interested.
No blues but there is Gary Numan.

Lester

One of the venues is at Teesside Airport which isn't far from me. Knowing my luck though,  if I went to an event, my little hatchback would be boxed in by SUVs. Only other downer, when I've been to the airport for events recently, it takes longer to drive round it than to drive to it... Still all power to whoever's elbow for getting the place on the list.

All those who believe in psychokenesis raise my hand........

Re: Drive in concerts UK

There is a venue near us that has been doing this since last month.  Gary Hoey and Johnny A have both had great shows from there.  Gary's was livestreamed for free.  Have to be creative in this day and age.  They are sorting the vehicles by size.

https://www.tupelomusichall.com/tupelo- … xperience/

Sandy

"There's a lot of people that are in so much of a hurry to be, I guess, to be famous or that they don't want to take the time to learn to play and do all that.They'd rather just knock it down off a computer and maybe get on a game show and get famous..That's fine if that's what you want to do.
"We're more old school than that. We like creating the sounds."  - Tom Petty

Re: Drive in concerts UK

The playbill for Teeside (juggle the dtaes for other venues) looks like this:-
Jul 31 Fri 18:30 Utilita Live From The Drive In
Jul 31 Fri 21:00 M Huncho
Aug 01 Sat 18:30 Whitney - Queen of the Night
Aug 02 Sun 21:00 The Streets
Aug 03 Mon 21:00 Reggae Roast VS Gentlemans Dub Club Sound System
Aug 05 Wed 18:30 Boyzlife
Aug 05 Wed 21:00 The Lightning Seeds
Aug 06 Thu 21:00 Tom Grennan
Aug 07 Fri 18:30 Cream Classical Ibiza
Aug 07 Fri 21:00 Cream Classical Ibiza
Aug 08 Sat 18:30 Beverley Knight
Aug 09 Sun 18:30 Russell Watson
Aug 11 Tue 14:00 The Tiger Who Came To Tea
Aug 11 Tue 21:00 The Snuts
Aug 12 Wed 21:00 Utilita Live From The Drive In
Aug 13 Thu 21:00 Dizzee Rascal
Aug 14 Fri 21:00 The Brand New Heavies
Aug 15 Sat 18:30 Bjorn Again
Aug 15 Sat 21:00 Sigala
Aug 16 Sun 14:00 Brainiac Live
Aug 17 Mon 21:00 Skindred
Aug 19 Wed 17:00 Six the Musical
Aug 19 Wed 21:00 Six the Musical
Aug 20 Thu 21:00 Six the Musical
Aug 21 Fri 17:00 Six the Musical
Aug 21 Fri 21:00 Six the Musical
Aug 22 Sat 17:00 Six the Musical
Aug 22 Sat 21:00 Six the Musical
Aug 23 Sun 18:30 Gary Numan
Aug 23 Sun 21:00 Six the Musical
Aug 24 Mon 21:00 The Zutons
Aug 25 Tue 21:00 Reef featuring Andy Taylor & Guests
Aug 30 Sun 18:30 What’s Love Got To Do with It?
Sep 03 Thu 21:00 KT Tunstall

All those who believe in psychokenesis raise my hand........

Re: Drive in concerts UK

Looks like the threat of local lockdowns has meant Live Nation have had to scrap these plans.

All those who believe in psychokenesis raise my hand........

6 (edited by Lester 2020-07-17 10:56:38)

Re: Drive in concerts UK

BansheeUK wrote:

Looks like the threat of local lockdowns has meant Live Nation have had to scrap these plans.

I have a suspicion there may be poor ticket sales behind this decision but local lockdown is a reasonable excuse - full marks for giving it a go.

7 (edited by BansheeUK 2020-07-17 12:38:48)

Re: Drive in concerts UK

Lester wrote:
BansheeUK wrote:

Looks like the threat of local lockdowns has meant Live Nation have had to scrap these plans.

I have a suspicion there may be poor ticket sales behind this decision but local lockdown is a reasonable excuse - full marks for giving it a go.

Six of one; half dozen o t'other....    wink

All those who believe in psychokenesis raise my hand........