Topic: Hi, everyone!

Just joining today.  My son just turned 7 this summer and has high-functioning autism, ADHD, and perfect pitch.  He's been playing guitar for just over a year and now plays acoustic and electric, bass guitar, mandolin, ukulele, and dulcimer guitar.  He played his first public gig with his father (a science teacher and self-taught guitarist/singer) last summer at a local bar after getting the uke for his birthday.  This summer, two local TV stations caught his story and things have just exploded from there.  He is now playing an average of two shows a month with his dad.  The pinnacle (I know, but so far it really has been!) happened this past weekend when he guested with his guitar teacher, Nick Gravelding of the Gravelding Brothers Band (formerly of Frostbit Blue for you Upstate NY'ers who may remember them) at our local Blues on the Bridge in Binghamton, NY.  As far as I know, he's the youngest person to ever perform in the event which is now in it's 15th year.

We took our son to see Buddy Guy this past spring in Ithaca, NY and we all had a really great time but were unable to get Buddy's attention even though we were only a few rows back.  I'd love for Joe to know that the Blues are alive and well with the younger generation and that we love his music so much!  Our son can play everything from John Denver to Rolling Stones as well as BB King, Stevie Ray, Duran Duran, AC/DC, Jim Croche, and everything in between but his favorite is blues improv.  We are working on improving fluidity and variety as sometimes he tends to hang out in one position too long and things can be a bit choppy as he forgets to leave his fingers in position long enough. His brain is always 500 feet ahead of his fingers-- and he has a severe stutter because his mouth can't catch up, either!  He is also starting to make up some of his own songs which is really fun.

I guess I am unable to post links because I'm new?  Maybe I can later.  Take care!