1 (edited by Dana 2014-11-16 15:53:15)

Topic: New Guitar Owner

Well, I finally did it.  I went ahead and purchased an acoustic guitar and have signed up for lessons.  I have taken two lessons so far and I am enjoying it.  I think the biggest challenge for me will getting my fingers use to the stretching.  I am 4'11" and have small hands.  Any tips from the aficionados out there?

Re: New Guitar Owner

Hi, at the beginning i would suggest to play along some of your favorite songs, something easy so that you can patiently learn Chord shapes without tiring your hands and fingers too much. With time you will get strength and calluses on the tip of your fingers and everything will come a lot easier! smile

I don't know what music you like...I started playing Oasis, Dylan, Springsteen, basically everything with good lyrics i can sing along and an acoustic guitar. This will put a little fun in your exercises, then as you keep taking lessons you will find the right exercises to become better and better everyday.

There's nothing better that playing guitar!...And maybe if you're really good at it, we will see you in a few years playing with Joe! smile

Ciao!

Fender John Mayer, Clapton CS, Ash Tele Am. Deluxe; Gibson Les Paul std. 2005, Es-335 Bonamassa (JB328), Warren Haynes; PRS Tremonti 10 Top; Asher Ben Harper Sig. / Martin D41; Taylor 914CE; Takamine TNV460SC; Rockbridge SJ & 000-12/ Two Rock Custom Reverb Signature V3; Marshall TSL100; Fender Twin Reverb '65; Orange Tiny Terror, Blackstar Artisan 15 Combo.

Great advice Stefan ..

Congrats Dana!  smile

Now I am definitely no aficionado on the subject, and as mundane as this sounds, I found that practising simple scales was a huge benefit along the way. Ur fingers are gonna use muscles u never knew existed.  Have fun and don't be discouraged .. u will find a good wrist/hand placement that is comfortable for u, and the simple exercises will help a great deal.

Rock on Girl and good luck!  cool