1 (edited by Sirona 2014-07-04 21:47:23)

Topic: What to look for in a Guitar Teacher?

I'm thinking of taking lessons to learn how to play an acoustic guitar. I've heard learning to play on an electric is much easier but I haven't the room for it.  I have always loved the guitar just never made the effort when I was younger to try it out. After seeing Joe in May, I figured I owed it to myself to give it a try to see if I like it.

I've already met one teacher and the guy seemed nice enough but it just went all wrong. 

He asked me who my favorite guitar players are and he'd only heard of one of them. I knew when I said Joe's name he probably wouldn't have a clue but at least the guy had heard of Peter Frampton.  I didn't think the guitarists I listed were too obscure as their names are thrown around these boards now and then.

I know a lot of people go the self taught route but I'm afraid if I do that I just won't learn because I won't be motivated.

Have any of you taken classes? What advice do you have in finding a good teacher?

https://live365.com/station/a72706

5/16/14 Hampton Beach, NH (First Joe show!)
1/15/16 Burlington, VT

2 (edited by Hogsniper 2014-07-04 22:35:42)

Re: What to look for in a Guitar Teacher?

Go for it!

Good but tough question.

Might just be me but while Joe may have managed to hide from some of us for a while I'd have a hard time believing someone worthwhile that makes their living from the guitar in some way has never even heard of him.

Even with a teacher 99% of the time you will be on your own so the motivation really needs to come from within.  You are doing it for yourself.  Some things like a guitar that inspires you to want to play and teacher you like help but, in the end, it's all you.